20131130-213048.jpg

My trip to Suburbia is almost over. Early tomorrow afternoon we will be packing up our bags and heading for the mountains. I am anxious to get back home and back to the normal routine but it has been a good trip. Of course there was Thanksgiving with all the awesome food and being surrounded by family. But there was a trip to the annual book sale at the library and the today I took a trip to the local BJ’s with my Mom where I treated myself to a brand new digital camera.

The highlight of the visit is what is becoming a tradition with my husband and I…a trip downtown to watch the annual Christmas Parade. It’s a pretty big parade, an hour an a half long. You got the standard marching bands, schools and local businesses and churches. Scout troops and local politicians. Fire trucks and police cars…and my personal favorite…two string bands aka Mummers, which is definitely a Philly thing.

Of course the highlight of the Christmas Parade is Santa being lifted up on a fire truck ladder to light the Christmas lights down town. It doesn’t matter how old you are, it’s definitely something that is magical…something to get you in the Christmas mood.

8 thoughts on “

  1. I’m hoping to sneak a visit to the town over the cascades to get some spirit. (Leavenworth, WA). It’s a magical place during the holidays.

    So glad you had a good visit! Despite all the hustle and bustle of the holidays, it’s good to set aside a couples tradition or two.

  2. Sounds like a nice Thanksgiving and definitely a great way to begin getting into the Christmas spirit.
    I’m still waiting for that spirit to hit me!

Leave a Reply

