Cooking on Sunday: Part One

In the snowstorm’s aftermath, today was the perfect kind of day to stay inside where it was warm. I started watching the Netflix series, Orange is the New Black and I decided that it was the perfect day to venture into the kitchen.

When I first moved up here, before I started working…I cooked at least a few times a week. Now, I never really considered myself a cook before moving up here but I discovered that I kind of enjoyed experimenting in the kitchen. Nothing fancy, mind you, but I discovered that it was something I enjoyed and something that my husband enjoyed.

But then I started working…first doing ten hour night shifts and then to a schedule that literally takes me away from home three days out of the week. And I stopped cooking for the most part. When I was working nights, I was just too damn tired all the time to cook and with the next job…well, I have no excuse other than laziness and my insistence that my husband start doing more around the house…and he’s a much better cook than housekeeper. LOL

But I missed cooking so today I decided to do about it.

Last Christmas I got it into my head to bake up a couple types of cookies to make cookie trays for people…but that didn’t really work out how I planned. As it was when I was doing overnights at the time, I was miserable, I made my husband miserable and the Christmas cookies weren’t exactly Christmas cookies. Just easy types of cookies that I knew I couldn’t screw up. 

Still, people loved them. But I was disappointed.

This year I decided to forgo the cookie baking. Yes, I had more time but with two cats and limited space to store cookies…I opted to seek out other options. Than I remembered the beauty of fudge. Everyone loves fudge. And well, I had an ex boyfriend that made it for me once and I figured if HE was able to make it, then I sure as hell could master it.

So anytime I have the urge to bake something other than chocolate chip cookies I called up my Mom who swiftly emailed me her recipe for Fantasy Fudge. 

First off, this was probably one of the easiest things I’ve ever attempted to “bake”. As my mother is probably related to Betty Crocker and would never dream of using a box mix for anything…I always felt a little intimidated by baking anything more complicated than the simplest type of cookie…but this fudge? So so easy! As long as you remember to keep stirring and add all the ingredients when it’s time…you cannot screw this up.

I was also delighted to discover that once you are finished, all you need to do is put your pot and spoon aside (after you do a through job of licking up the leftovers of course!) and after everything hardens it’s the easiest thing to clean up off of non stick cookware. 

Fantasy Fudge

3 cups sugar

3/4 cup butter

2/3 cup evaporated milk

1-12 oz bag of semi sweet chocolate chips

1-7oz jar of marshmallow creame

1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine sugar, butter and milk in a 21/2 quart saucepan; bring to a full rolling boil, stirring constantly to prevent scorching. Remove from heat: stir in chocolate chips until melted, add marshmallow creme, nuts and vanilla until well blending. Pour into a greased 9 inch pan (may use smaller pans) cool at room temperature. Makes 3 pounds.

 

Image

22 thoughts on “Cooking on Sunday: Part One

  1. You just brought a wonderful memory back to my mind that I’d forgotten … and a smile. My mom used to make fudge exactly like what you posted above. It was delicious! She always made it around Christmas and she would divide it 4 ways. She’d keep a quarter of it for her and my dad, and then she’d give my 2 sisters and I each a quarter for our homes. We loved that fudge and looked forward to mom making it each year. She’s gone now, and I’d forgotten. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Think I’ll make it and surprise my sisters for Christmas. 🙂

  2. DR really wants to make candy for Xmas…it can be a LOT of work…and it may or may not actually ever happen. I am totally keeping this recipe as a back-up plan! Thanks!

  3. I had good intentions to do more baking this year and share it with friends. But I just didn’t find the energy. Maybe next year.
    Your fudge looks good though!
    xo Catherine

Leave a Reply

