‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

It’s not Christmas, or at least not for a few days…but Hubby and I decided to celebrate the holiday this weekend as I am working both Christmas Eve and Day and won’t be home at all to enjoy the festivities (oh the joy of working a job that requires staff 24/7/365), and we will be driving to NJ to visit my folks for a belated Christmas next weekend.

We have actually never celebrated Christmas together. Even last year, I was working night shifts and slept through most of the holiday…and hubby was sick with food poisoning (I told him that the chicken soup was no good!). So needless to say, last year was a bust.

So this year, I really really wanted to try to have a traditional Christmas celebration. Even if it wasn’t on Christmas. I envisioned having a Christmas tree (that fell through), having a clean apartment (well it was clean…last weekend), and spend the day lounging about having delicious food, watching Christmas movies and maybe even driving around to look at Christmas lights. You know, all those little traditions that make Christmas, Christmas.

I’m not sure how it’s going to play out. The house is a mess and as I’m just starting to feel okay after coming home sick early on Wednesday…I’m not sure how much cleaner I’m going to be able to make things. We don’t have any decorations and as I’m not creative I have no hope of Martha Stewarting the place up. I have no menu planned (though Hubby promised to pick something up tonight). We do have Christmas movies…I treated myself to The Muppet Christmas Carol this year and of course there’s the classic Love Actually that has been a personal Christmas staple for me for years now.

So I’m going to just try to stop beating myself (and my hubby) up about the state of the house. Decorations aren’t all important (plus, no mess or putting stuff away come January 2nd). We can go out for dinner or order in. All that’s important is that we’ll be spending time together, enjoying the holiday as best as we can.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gIoSga7tZPg

7 thoughts on “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

  1. As long as you are together that’s the most important thing and it appears you are going to plan your own festivities. That’s even better. For years I worked all the holidays and I spent 25 years working a job that was 24/7/365. I can so relate.

    Have a fabulous day and I’m glad you’re feeling better. πŸ™‚

  2. I also agree with that as long as your together you don’t need the bells and whistles heheh!

    have a xmastastic weekend and don’t do anything I would πŸ˜‰

  3. it’s the perfect holiday, this one being christmas. holidays are never the postcard perfect and those expectations only make one sad when they don’t happen, lower your wishes and they will come true and you will be a happy-pappy gal! merry christmas honey! to you both!

    smiles, bee
    xoxoxo

  4. You have the right attitude. You and your husband will make your own little traditions over the years…and one might be that you don’t drive yourselves mad turning your place all red and green πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

