So, That Was an Interesting Drive

Driving in the Catskills is a true test of skills. No matter the season, you are constantly challenged by twists and turns, various wildlife and domestic life (seriously, I’ve had to swerve to miss both cattle and sheep) and out of area drivers who can’t fathom driving the 55mph speed limit that you find almost everywhere around here.

Then comes winter, and those hazards become tenfold as not only are you dealing with said challenges…you are dealing with them while avoiding snow, slush, ice, and black ice. Trust me, when you are driving up here…there is very little room for error. And winter, there is absolutely no room for error.

Hubby and I had some laundry and errands to complete today. Or tonight rather, as the motivation fairy has gone on strike. It was already 9pm or so when we finally got done our last errand and started heading home. We were about halfway home over the mountain when up ahead we see an odd light. As we got closer, we realized that it was the taillights of a SUV that was completely overturned on the side of the road.

We immediately pulled over and hubby tells me to get my phone ready in case we need to call 911, then he hurries over to the truck to assess the situation. Fortunately the driver had made it out of the SUV, shaken up obviously but otherwise injury free. I lent him my cell phone and we ended up giving him a ride home so he could get help (calling for help and waiting for said help would have been a much slower process).

We’re not exactly sure what happened. Just one of those freak accidents that are more likely to happen when there is ice, snow and slush on the road. One minute you are driving along, the next minute, you are upside down in a ditch. I’m usually a very cautious driver, especially in winter and at night…but this will definitely make me even more vigilant. 

Very thankful everything worked out like it did. 

17 thoughts on “So, That Was an Interesting Drive

  1. Living in Maine, I really try to steady my nerves driving on winter roads. How lucky for the driver that you stopped, and that he was all right.

  2. I’m sure that driver learned a very valuable lesson too. I don’t like driving in the snow, but have many times. I’ll take the sunshine we have here most of the time.

    I too am glad this had a happy ending. You were both very nice for helping.

    Have a fabulous day. 🙂

  3. We don’t get harsh winters in New Orleans (but maybe once every five to ten years we get snow.. just enough to make a one foot snowman… even then, the entire city shuts down because we just don’t know how to drive in that small amount of snow)…. We get bad fog with all the water surrounding us.. and of course hurricanes… but harsh winters scare the daylights out of me, because it’s not our norm of knowing how to best prepare.

  4. Pingback: Contrary to Popular Belief, I Did Not Freeze to Death | The Catskill Blogger

Leave a Reply

