Potato and Leek Soup

(photo borrowed from All Recipes)

I had a really great day yesterday. Very busy though, I’m thinking that I only was home about four hours out of the entire day. It wasn’t long at all. The early part of the day was shopping. Hubby and I are invited to a First Birthday party tomorrow, so I was in charge of finding a gift for the little one and as I was out I figured I might as well pick up some healthy groceries as we have a freezer full of meat, and our cabinets are pretty well stocked up on things like rice and pasta…the fridge however, was in a very sorry state. So before I checked out at Walmart I hit up the produce section and picked up some clementines and stuff to make a nice healthy salad. I noticed that they had leeks and they caught my attention as I’ve been really wanted to try some new stuff in the New Year.

Then my phone dinged with a weather advisory for snow coming our way. Before I put my phone away, I pulled up my All Recipe app on my phone and searched for a recipe for potato and leek soup to see if it was feasible for someone with a limited kitchen knowledge to make. I clicked on the first recipe that came up and after reading the ingredients and steps decided that it was totally doable. 

So I picked up the few items that I needed and headed home.

I started cooking right away so that it would be just about ready for when Hubby came home from work. As I was adding the last ingredient though, Hubby called to ask if I wanted to join him and his buddy for a meal out to celebrate his friend’s job promotion. Um, that part was not planned, but somehow I convinced them to come here for dinner. I threw together the salad and let the soup simmer. I hardly ever cook anymore, and have never really cooked for anyone other then my Hubby and at work but it came out perfectly. Hubby ate two bowls in fact.

I just wish I had thought to take a picture.

15 thoughts on “Potato and Leek Soup

  1. I don’t cook often, either, although I enjoy it – when I have time. I intended to make a lot more soup this winter, but I’ve only made one pot of chicken soup so far! This sounds yummy!

  2. That looks lovely Leek And Potato is one of my favourite soups so hearty

    Hope you didn’t get too much snow have a soupertastic week 😉

  3. I’ve been dying to try potato and leek soup. I’m glad to hear it went well! Be careful cooking for your husband and his friends. I made Sunday dinner two weekends ago, and now I’m being contracted to do it again tomorrow night. It’s a slippery slope, my friend.

Leave a Reply

