Locked Out

This evening, just about the time I was thinking of what I should make myself for dinner, Hubby texts me and invites me over to his parents house for dinner. Although the only real thing we had to eat in the house was eggs,  I was half tempted just to stay here. I was comfortable in my pj’s as I had  spent a good part of the day napping after getting through work for the week.

But free food is free food and if I don’t have to cook said food…even better. So I got dressed and grabbed my keys so I could head across town. Except then I realized that Hubby had taken my car. Being that the temps were once again down into the single digits, with wind chill factor of something like Antarctica. So while I’d usually walk over without caring, there was no way I was going to do that tonight.

So I returned inside and texted Hubby back, chiding him for leaving me stranded. He replied he’d be there in a minute to pick me up. So stupid me put my keys down and about five minutes later thought I heard Hubby pull up. So I stepped outside and stupidly locked the door just to realize that it was a false alarm and that Hubby still hadn’t left.

Standing still just was not an option as I pretty much froze within 30 seconds, so without any other option I started down the steps then started walking down the road a bit, figuring that it would be just a teeny bit warmer.

Don’t worry though, Hubby arrived before I made it to the end of our road, so I got to freeze from the comfort of my car.

And four hours later, I’m still waiting to defrost.

11 thoughts on “Locked Out

  1. Yep, that’s cold and then some and takes forever to thaw out. I’ve been there a time or two. You two do have interesting adventures though.

    Have a fabulous day and weekend. 🙂

  2. Oh no, sorry about that and it seems to me when I get a chill it takes forever to get rid of it. Hope your warm and cozy today!

  3. Omg, I cannot believe you did that, lol. Glad your hubby got there soon. It is cold here, it even snowed and it’s the first I have seen since weI moved 7 years ago….Christine

  4. baby it’s cold outside, no joking!! i would have stayed in my p.j.’s and had the hubs bring me home a plate!!

    have a warm weekend!! xo

Leave a Reply

