Date Night

Despite the fact that both Hubby and I have felt like crap this weekend, we decided to have an impromptu date night last night. We had gone out to do our laundry at the laundry mat and when we finished up we decided that since we were out, we didn’t feel much like going back home to hibernate again.

We realized that I had a gift card for Applebee’s in my wallet that we hadn’t used yet so we pointed our car to the direction of the nearest Applebee’s…a half hour or so from where we were. As I was driving, Hubby suggested that we go see a movie. Or rather, the movie he was dying to see…The Lego Movie.

Now honestly, I had no real interest in seeing a movie about those little building pieces from my childhood but it was an excuse to prolong our evening (and prevent me from going into hibernation mode). Plus, I did hear a good review on the movie that morning so I figured that it probably wasn’t as bad as I expected.

Quite honestly, I loved the movie. Yes, it initially seemed like a very strange premise for a movie but it does make sense. And yes, there is a cognizance storyline. ย It was very funny and had great lines. Definitely on par with some of the Pixar movies and as the theater was pretty packed we definitely were not the only ones willing to give the movie a shot. Granted, I’m pretty sure we were one of the few adults there without at least one kid in tow but whatever. I’m totally okay with pretending to be a kid once in awhile.

After the movie we went for dinner which was decent enough. I am not really a huge fan of Applebee’s, but they do have half price appies and certain drinks after 9pm so it’s a somewhat alternative to an actual bar. I behaved myself last night, I ordered a short Sam Adam’s Cold Snap, I did indulge in some mozzarella sticks but then I brought most of my dinner home for tonight. I did however have a glass of hard cherry apple cider when I got home though.

13 thoughts on “Date Night

  1. What a fun date night. Hubby and I do those now and then too. Always so fun. Just being together and doing something other than just being home is awesome.

    Have a fabulous week ahead. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve heard this movie is really good.
    I used to play for hours with Legos, as a kid.
    Now that I think of it, my kids’ Legos are stored in the basement.
    Might keep me sane through this next storm! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

