Valentine’s Day

Due to weather and finances, Hubby and I opted for a low key Valentine’s Day this year and I could not ask for a nicer evening.

I knew that things were going to be low key. We weren’t exchanging gifts or cards. We couldn’t go too far as the weather was nasty and our usual go to place in town has closed down (a post for another day)…but we’d picked up some treats at the supermarket on Thursday and Hubby offered to make dinner for us.

Hubby worked that day and I spend the time doing a bit of housework and then got ready for him to come home….which on a normal day doesn’t mean much at all, but as yesterday was a special occasion, and I wanted to surprise Hubby at least a little bit…decided that I would dress up for our night in. I took a bath and painted my nails. Did my hair and put on make up then put on a little black dress that I bought second hand almost two years ago…and just never had an opportunity to wear. I even brought out my wedding pearls!

And yes, hubby was pleasantly surprised.

Then we settled in for a movie night. We watched Muriel’s Wedding, Spaceballs, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Clue and Planes. Trains and Automobiles…(you can probably guess who chose what!) and we ate a delicious dinner and never quite made it to the dessert we picked up. Instead we nibbled on chocolate candies that my MIL sent over to us.

And even though there was no fancy roses or jewelry boxes from Tiffany’s…it was still a perfect Valentine’s Day for us.

Love you Hubby!

9 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect way to spend Valentine’s Day. Ours was quiet, too, although my hubby had brought home some truffles from a local chocolatier earlier in the week. He wasn’t able to sneak them into the house without my seeing them, though, so I’ve been eating my Valentine’s Day gift for several days now. We also watched a movie last night, but just one. You guys showed some stamina to watch so many all at once. šŸ™‚

  2. Making do is how we roll! I cooked hubby a home-cookin’ meal. Nothing overly special like some folks’ celebrations, but then we keep things simple. Like you, we’re low on the funds. I know it’s the thought that counts.

Leave a Reply

