It Had a Good Run

For the last two weeks, Hubby and I have been in mourning.

About two weeks ago, our favorite place to eat/drink/hangout closed up shop. I won’t get into the finer  details, other than to say this had been coming for awhile now. Still, having known that it might happen didn’t make things easier. It still felt very sudden and for a town as small as our town…the loss is felt quite sharply. Sure there is a bar, but we’re not really bar people. Too noisy. Too rowdy. And most importantly, not exactly the place for a pair of self professed beer snobs. Then there is another place that is just a little too pricey for us.  There’s a diner, but again…just not the same. If I wanted a dose of coffee, great. But a pint of beer? Nope. Sorry. No beer for you.

So we’re sad.

I guess it’s good in some ways. We’re saving money (and calories) as we’re less likely to spontaneously show up at our spot or to order a pizza (now the only two options is a subpar bar pie or a subpar frozen pizza). It’s forcing us to cook a little more, and getting more creative.

But we’re sad.

Because sometimes you wanna go where everyone knows your name….

13 thoughts on “It Had a Good Run

  1. Bye, bye favorite coffee shop, you will be missed!! Isn’t it sad that all these small, cozy shops are being forced to close. We have one right up the street, “the cozy kitchen”!! When you are there, bob or Lori cooks for you, you feel like you are right in their kitchen. It’s for sale, if it doesn’t sell soon, they are just going to close. I have been eating breakfast there for 40 years!! Not everyday though 😉

  2. Oh man, that sucks! When we first moved here we had a favorite place (Main Street Ale House — best fish and chips with an awesome microbrew selection). Then they moved from the downtown square to another location. It became the death knell for us. The place that replaced it is great (Three Lions Pub), but WAY too noisy. I’d have to wear my shooter’s ear plugs in there.

  3. Yep, I can relate to this. We don’t live in a small town like you and we have lots of choices, but we had a dinner house that we loved dearly and when it closed we too mourned. It passes after a bit, but you never forget that favorite place.

    Have a fabulous day. 🙂

  4. Can you send me your address? Mine is skcz at comcast dot net?

    I hate when our favorite things close or you can’t find something again at the store you love. Change . . .

  5. It’s always hard to change your patterns especially if it’s forced on you. I live in a village and every time something changes we all feel a bit off until we get used to it. i hope something takes its place for you soon!

  6. That always makes me sad. My in-laws were restauranteurs (in fact, that is how I met my husband) and it broke my heart when they had to shutter. It is also sad when you had a place that felt right and it’s gone.My best to you both!
    🙂
    Traci
    PS I was just thinking of that song. They don’t make TV theme songs like they used to!

  7. Oh sorry to hear that…. at least it is making you more creative and helps you save…as you said 🙂

    I hope there’ll be another one just as great as the one you loved visiting soon…

Leave a Reply

