Comfort Food

To put a positive spin on all this crappy winter weather we’ve been having lately, it does give an excuse to indulge in some good old fashioned comfort food and drinks. Granted, come spring time it’ll be time to regret all that food…but sometimes all you need is some good old fashioned comfort food to help bare the cold weather.

I was fortunate to grow up with two parents who were pretty passionate about food. My mom is an amazing baker, and a very good cook and my Dad had experience in pizzerias and bars and could definitely hold his own in the kitchen. Although I’m not nearly as good a cook or baker as either one of my parents…I grew up loving food and definitely having an appreciation for good, hearty food. Perhaps we were never the most sophisticated of eaters, but we sure do know what we like.

Although my family has no Italian blood between us, you probably would not believe that when it came to our kitchen. Between a plethora of pasta dishes and my parents’ homemade pizza a good chunk of my favorite comfort foods are of an Italian decent. I love pasta in just about all forms, but especially the very simple spaghetti and meatballs (or sausage). Mom always made massive batches of tomato sauce and froze it by quarts so that we almost always had tomato sauce on hand. So easy to defrost that, cook up the pasta and have a quick and satisfying meal. We ate a lot of this growing up and while I actually don’t make it often for Hubby and myself…It’s still something I love.

Pizza is another favorite. Now, as I mentioned…my parents love making their own pizza. My Mom’s in charge of the dough and my Dad’s in charge of everything else. It’s always a huge mess but oh my god, so worth it in the end. Best pizza ever. Unfortunately it’s made me quite the pizza snob and it’s kind of rare for me to find a place that serves a great pizza consistently. And no, chain pizza places are out. If they can be avoided, they will be.

Chicken. I am not a huge meat fan believe it or not. I know I post a lot about venison, but truth be told…I would very happily be a vegetarian. But I do love my chicken. ย Even ย the smell is comforting. And as a bonus, it’s such a versatile meat that you could literally eat chicken for a month straight and no have it the same way twice. Ideally anyway.

Chocolate chip cookies and oatmeal cookies. Like I said, Mom is an amazing baker and she is capable of some amazing things in the kitchen but a simple cookie is my favorite. Fudge brownies are a very close second. Which reminds me, I haven’t had one in ages.

As far as drinks go…coffee and tea. I used to drink a mug of tea nearly every night with my parents…especially on the days my Mom worked. My dad would always make us tea. I usually only drink it now when I’m at my MIL’s.

Beer…this is an all year drink for sure, but I love dark beer during the winter. Right now I’m obsessed with Brewery Ommegang’s Three Philosophers.

What are some of your comfort foods to get you through the cold winter?

7 thoughts on “Comfort Food

  1. We love all things pasta and have a couple of places that we frequent when we want comfort food. We are meat eaters though. We have pizza several times a year and that’s a treat too. When you get older you just can’t eat a lot of these kinds of foods. Bugger.

    Have a fabulous day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. And now, I’m hungry!!!
    I am Italian through and through and can surely appreciate what you’ve written here. My mom and dad are no longer here, so reading this has brought back some wonderful memories. Thank you for that.

    Really, what could be better than pizza? All your basic food groups in each yummy slice!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy day to you!

  3. I don’t really have comfort foods specific to a season – the foods I love, I love all year round. Maybe lasagna is more cold-weather. A couple of years ago I decided to try to completely make my own pizza – dough, tomato sauce, roasted peppers, and mozarella cheese all hand-made. It was good but a lot of work.

Leave a Reply

