House Hunting

I mentioned before that I was hoping to start looking for a house in the next year or so, Last month however, while we were dog sitting, I discovered a nearby house for sale. It was smallish, and was on a track of nice looking land and I filed it away in the back of my mind. Last weekend hubby and I went for a walk, and I showed him the house.

Now before you get too excited, we are not getting the house for many reasons, not the least being that we’re just not ready to commit to a house…but it did get hubby motivated. In fact, two days after I showed him the house, he started the paperwork so that when we are ready to get serious…we’ll be able to get assistance from the VA.

I also downloaded the Zillow app to my iPhone. I haven’t played around with it too much, but it seems like an extremely handy tool. Not only does it show various houses/properties that are for sale around the area, but gives estimates on stuff like a monthly mortgage and utilities so that you get an idea of what monthly expenses look like. Like I said, I haven’t used it too much but I suspect that in the coming months I’ll be utilizing it a lot as we get more and more serious about our house hunting.

 

10 thoughts on “House Hunting

  1. Zillow can be helpful, but not always accurate. They’ve got the wrong amount listed for how much I paid for my home and under-valued it by quite a lot compared to a recent appraisal. Still, on balance it’s useful.

Leave a Reply

