Being Busy

I am gearing up for a busy weekend. Thursday (today), after I get done work at 9am, will be the only day where I have absolutely nothing to do. On Friday I am picking up a few hours of overtime. On Saturday our town is having an out door farmers market in which the Lion’s Club will be selling hot dogs. On Sunday the Lion’s Club is holding the annual pancake breakfast. And somewhere in there I’m aiming to make a pie for the American Legion’s Memorial Day pie sale.

I am tired, and I haven’t even gotten started. In fact, I probably won’t participate on Saturday…although, no doubt I’ll walk down to see what’s going on.

I don’t like being busy. I don’t like rushing from one activity to the next, without a chance to just be. I like my space. I like having time to curl up with a book, or my laptop or even Netflix and just enjoy the company of myself.

And a lot of times I feel like I am in the minority. It seems like we are living in a society hell bent on always being busy. Part of it is out of necessity I am sure…lots of people need to work overtime, or multiple jobs to make ends meet. Or work jobs where they are required to put in insane hours. But there are just as many people who willingly say yes to every opportunity that comes their way. There is always such a rush to get to the next thing that I just can’t understand how anyone is able to enjoy what they are doing in the moment.

Are those people even enjoying what they are keeping busy with? Or do they stay busy because they are scared of just being still? Or do they even know how to just sit on the couch and watch tv, or read a book…or just sit quietly. Maybe that scares them into constant movement.

Personally I love stillness. I find that I have a better understanding of myself and that when I do decide to participate in something I truly enjoy myself because I choose not to live my life as a busy person. My life is rich, just as rich as the person who crams 30 hours of activity into a mere 24 hours.

6 thoughts on “Being Busy

  1. I have a very very hard time sitting still and sitting quietly. The only way to pull that off is with a book. I think all the frantic movement is an expression of something else (for me) but I have yet to make peace with it, which doesn’t mean I’m not trying. Take the small quiet moments and don’t over do it this memorial day weekend

  2. I think it’s more a temperamental difference. Some people re-fuel by being busy and with others, other people need quiet and alone time. There isn’t a right or wrong to it, you just have to honor whichever way suits you.

Leave a Reply

