Thoughts Flying

Hubby and I spent the weekend in New Jersey with my parents. My Dad was scheduled for (minor) surgery on Friday and as this is something like surgery number seven since 2006-I felt that I should be close for moral support.

Fortunately the minor surgery was just that, minor, and despite the surgeon’s prediction that Dad would spend the night in the hospital Dad was returned to us by lunch time the same day. Predictably sore, but in high spirits.

That evening, Mom and I went on a much needed and much overdue Mother Daughter Date. Unfortunately we did not plan it too well. Mom wanted to go see If I Stay, a movie based on a popular YA novel so the theater was teeming with loud and obnoxious teenagers (most who, based on the comments I overheard) had no idea what the movie was suppose to be about). Several times I thought about suggesting to Mom that we should just leave and ask for our money back. It was that noisy. But we stuck through it. It was an okay movie, it had some really good moments, but the (distracted) impression that I got was that it was lacking something.

Saturday Hubby and I took the puppies on an easy hike in the state park near my parents house. I think the puppies enjoyed themselves. We recently bought retractable leashes for them and they loved that little bit of freedom it allows them. They were mostly well behaved until they came across some runners. That could have been messy, sorry about that! That night I cooked dinner and my one sister came home for a visit. Both dinner and the visit were a success.

Sunday Mom took over the dogsitting so Hubby and I could have a little time to ourselves. We checked out a local brewery that opened recently. It was very barebones, operating out of a former airport hangar but the beer was good. Then from there we visited a winery where we each enjoyed a glass of wine on the patio.

winery

Like always, I left my parents house feeling conflicted. It’s so hard saying goodbye to them, especially with Dad’s health being so precarious at times. I do not care for the area of NJ they live in, nor do I relish the thought of uprooting my life yet again to move and start all over again…but just for a little while I played around with the thought.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts Flying

  1. it’s tough when a parent has health issues and we worry from them from afar. I’m keeping your family in my thoughts and I’m glad your dad’s surgery went off without a hitch

Leave a Reply

